I advise turtlenecks for a few days…

Standard

I made the mistake of going to Barnes and Noble this evening. I had no idea what I was walking into, and I thought other unenlightened bibliophiles deserved fair warning: tonight is a big party for vampires and werewolves.

Yes, I know they don’t exist. Apparently a lot of people think differently.

At midnight tonight, the fourth book in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer comes out. I’m not exactly fond of vampires, so I have not and will not read the series. However, I have read the first in her series for adults, The Host, and I highly recommend the book. It’s part Invasion of the Body Snatchers, part psychological drama, part romance. I’m looking forward to the sequel.

But back to the vampires and werewolves.

Picture gaggles of young ladies between 13 and 18, dressed in black dresses, T-shirts, and skirts, usually with black and red striped tights underneath, and all wearing black lipstick. And yes, they were wandering around a bookstore at nine o’clock at night. It conjured up images of the Harry Potter watch parties of yesteryear (no, I didn’t read Harry Potter either, but those parties were featured by pretty much every major news outlet.) At least there were no black zigzags on any foreheads.

So just a recommendation: you might want to be on the lookout for sleep-deprived teenage girls who think they are vampires. If it weren’t for the weatherman predicting 103 tomorrow, I’d be wearing a scarf for protection.

Leave a Reply

