Novel Research: The Results of the Soymilk Adventure

Standard

I promised photos of the results of my homemade soymilk attempt, so here they are.

1st Step: Puree the soybeans

1st Step: Puree the soybeans

A better view of step one. I wont lie: it smelled horrible.

A better view of step one from above. Lovely texture, isn't it?

It smelled pretty bad raw, but then I had to cook it.

Step 2: Cook the soybeans to draw out the milk.

Step 2: Cook the soybeans to draw out the "milk."

It was on step two that I decided soymilk should be called “Soy juice.” It did not look like milk.

Step 3: Strain the mixture through cloth to filter out the okara from the milk.

Step 3: Strain the mixture through cloth to filter out the okara from the milk.

Sorry, folks. Forgot to take a picture of the actual straining process, but this is what resulted from it. Ugh. I stuck it in the refrigerator to chill for awhile.

My chilled mug of soymilk.

My chilled mug of soymilk.

By the way, I chickened out on actually trying it. The stuff smelled so horrible that I couldn’t bring myself to taste it. Perhaps that defeats the purpose of the experiment, but I just couldn’t. I consider it very valuable research anyway. Why? I could never live on Mars because I’d have to drink that stuff, and I can’t. So now I know what kind of people couldn’t tolerate immigrating to Mars: people like me.

How ironic.

2 thoughts on “Novel Research: The Results of the Soymilk Adventure

Leave a Reply

