Top Five Fiction Books I Read This Year

Standard

It’s the end of 2009, and journalists, critics, and news reporters are making lists. Here’s my own list of favorite books I read for the first time this year. Apparently this was my year to read dystopian fiction.

Top Five Fiction Books I Read This Year

5. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
Very good young adult science fiction that discusses the ethical boundaries of science. I especially loved the experimental forms of prose and poetry Pearson used to illustrate Jenna’s state of mind. I reviewed it here.

4. The Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld
Yes, I’m cheating, but these four books, Uglies, Pretties, Specials, and Extras, are absolutely captivating. The first three explore what could happen if society’s obsession with beauty was taken to the extreme. The fourth novel in the series, Extras, describes a society built on social networking, blogging, and the paparazzi. I stole the series from a young friend of mine and had a hard time giving them back. I didn’t write a review because the series has been around for awhile, but I do recommend it with no reservations.

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
It was difficult to rank this one third.  The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games rank equally in my head, but I chose to put it in third because I prefer third-person narration style over first-person. Yes, it actually came down to narrative style. I reviewed this book this morning, so it made the list just under the wire. You can read my full review here.

2. The Maze Runner by James Dashner
I loved this book! The Maze Runner grabs onto you with the mystery of the maze and keeps you reading with the deeper mysteries of the characters and their histories. Dashner makes you hate the Maze creators, and by the end, you’ll demand an explanation for their crimes against the Gladers. You can read my full review here.

1. World War Z: An Oral History of  the Zombie War by Max Brooks
One of the few novels that makes me wax eloquent about its virtues. Brooks made me love the zombie genre, a feat I previously thought impossible. I reviewed it here.

Leave a Reply

