The Plan

Standard

My goal for this year is to finish my novel by August. I think perhaps I might be mad. At the moment, the novel sits at 34,000 words, and I aim to triple that amount before I’m finished. To complete the novel by August would mean writing more than I have ever written in my life. In 8 months.

I thought I was nuts until some simple calculations revealed that my pace needs to be about 500 words a day. That is definitely doable. However, that pace means no weekends or vacations off. I’m not known for my consistency, so this will definitely test my perseverance.

To give myself an incentive, if I am on track by June 1, I will pre-order the final book in The Hunger Games series.

If not, I get to wait until September 1 to get my copy. Which will be pure torture.

Any ideas for other smaller incentives I could give myself along the way? Cuz I’m gonna need ’em.

3 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. Well, I’m so excited for you! I just finished my second draft, and am so grateful for all the people who have encouraged me – I like to spread that to others who are setting goals for themselves. 🙂

    Sounds like a good plan, to make a simple spreadsheet. I spent more time making mine than I felt like I should, but it turned out to be a really good investment, because it kept me on track pretty well.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, by the way!

  2. A massage at 75,000 words… That sounds divine, owlandsparrow! And yes, I am planning about 100,000 words.
    I think I’m going to make a very simple spreadsheet to track how much I’ve written with the goal for the week. That way I know how many chunks of this elephant I need to bite off. Thanks for the idea! I need all the encouragement I can get.

  3. Maybe schedule a massage for your goal’s halfway mark! Let’s see, you have about 66,000 words left until your goal? (If you’re planning for 100K that is.) When you reach 75,000 words, schedule a full body massage to reward yourself for all the days you sat at your computer/notebook typing/writing. Schedule another one when you reach the end goal.

    I love goals and challenges!! 🙂 I made a spreadsheet on excel to track my daily word count, a running total, and how many words I am behind/ahead of my goal. It was the perfect way to keep me accountable, plus I’ve built up a good list of encouraging blog friends who helped along the way. Blogging about your progress is accountability in and of itself, and it can be quite motivating!! 🙂

    Good luck – you can so do this. I’ll check back, because I’m curious to see how your goals go.

Leave a Reply

