Novel Research: AeroGarden

Standard

Remember my soy milk adventure? I have now embarked on a new research adventure.

NASA has already been working on ways to grow food in zero-G for the long trip to Mars. One of their projects involves an inflatable frame for growing food aeroponically. I have have been using aeroponics extensively in my novel. Growing a plant aeroponically means there is no dirt involved. The plant roots are misted with water and nutrients instead. I’ve read enough on the subject to think I could try it myself.

Well, it just happens that my fabulous mother bought me a white 3-pod AeroGarden for Christmas, specifically for my Mars research. Ta-da!

AeroGarden uses technology closely related to aeroponics (it’s more hydroponic. Ask Google about the difference if you’re curious). You fill the base with water, add a nutrient tab, and then “plant” pods in the holes. As they grow, the plants put down roots directly into the water instead of dirt. The garden actually reminds you to refill the water or add nutrients, and the light comes on automatically. Sounds idiot-proof which is good: I have a notorious black thumb. I just set up my first pods on Wednesday, and I’ll be tracking their progress with photos. Here’s what I’m starting with:

I’ve “planted” Twinkle Flox, Mini Pink Petunias, and Stock. I haven’t a clue what those are, but the pictures on the pods are pretty.

As you can sort of see, it’s all pink and purple flowers. The garden also came with herb pods, but flowers are easier. I doubt a black thumb disappears overnight, so I’m not pushing my luck. In any case, this should prove useful for my novel. Hands on experiments motivate me to write more, especially when the results make my kitchen pretty. Wish my little seedlings luck!

3 thoughts on “Novel Research: AeroGarden

Leave a Reply

