Ugh

Standard

My first week of trying to write 500 words a day has been a dismal failure.

30 Rock, Community, and Criminal Minds are more fun than writing. I like naps and reading novels and cool history books. I had to wash my hair. And peruse chihuahua puppies at the pet store, in spite of the fact that we live in an apartment complex that does not allow pets and I don’t like chihuahuas. The hubby is ill.

Of all my excuses, only a sick hubby isn’t completely threadbare. But it only takes about an hour to pick up Gatorade, Nyquil, and Vicks Shower Soothers, heat canned chicken soup, and tuck said hubby onto the couch with a quilt, PS3 controller, and orange juice. What have I been doing the other 30+ hours of free time I’ve had this week?

Diddly squat.

I have written about 1000 words this week, primarily penned on Tuesday and today. This is not a good start.

2 thoughts on “Ugh

  1. Writing that made me feel pretty ashamed of myself, and I wrote about 1000 words last night out of guilt. So instead of 2000 words behind, I’m just about 1000 words behind. A little bit better!

  2. Hey, though, 1000 words is something, at least. At least it’s on your mind, you know? I think those things are totally understandable. After being sick myself, and seeing how much my husband has had to do to help take care of me, I think it’s definitely understandable that your mindset has been different. Even if you’re not constantly doing something to take care of him, it’s kind of an ever-present thing, you know? And when you’re married (at least for us), our attitudes kinda rub off on each other. If he has a stressful week, I start to feel it, too. feel sick, it affects him, too. I bet you’ll have a better week soon, especially if it bothers you that you didn’t get as much done as you wanted. As long as it bothers you, you’ll probably end up getting it done eventually. 🙂

    Wow. Sorry for such a long comment!! 🙂 Good luck with the writing, and hope your hubby feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

