Where I’ve been

Standard

And now for a series of random events that should explain my absence of late:

We went on vacation for a week. Hooray for the Evergreen State!

The apartment flooded the day after we returned.

My car battery died, and the nose-piece on my glasses broke that same day.

We decided to hightail it off campus to greener pastures. Criteria: 1) larger than a sardine can, 2) no lead paint, and 3) a kitchen that doesn’t make me cry. (See, most people living in campus apartments are going to be missionaries or pastors. In order to toughen you up for the field, the seminary designs the dwellings so that wherever you go next, be it Serengeti desert, Arctic tundra, or Amazon jungle, it will be a step up from your campus accommodations. Yes, I’m joking. Sort of.).

This is our fifth move in four years of marriage. I consider it training for military life. I’ve gotten pretty good at it, but it still takes awhile to figure out where to put everything. I imagine by the seventh move this will no longer be an issue (HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!).

After digging out of the mountain of boxes, I have spent my time cooking lovely dinners for my hubby and enjoying the much quieter surroundings. We even have a balcony. It is, to quote a professor I once knew, fan-TAS-tic.

As a result of the new digs, I had to find a new route to work.

All that to say: I pass a very nice library to and from my office, so I finally took the time to get a library card. The stack of books I brought home almost toppled me over on the way to the car. I’ll be heading back there tomorrow for a second load.

That is all.

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve been

  1. The only way to survive the comedy of errors that is my life is to laugh. It keeps me from getting too overwhelmed. Glad you like my blog. 🙂

  2. Marty

    Very fun blog, Laura. I am so pleased to see you look at the difficulties with a sense of humor. I am proud of you and so glad to be your friend!

Leave a Reply

