New Years Post: What I Read

Standard

I’ve done a lot of reading over the last year. I read over my lunch breaks at work. I read in between contractions (yes, really. It kept my mind off of the pain.) before we left for the hospital. I read during maternity leave while my son napped. I read on my breaks at work for a few months until I got to stay home full time. Now that I’m home, reading happens during my son’s naps (if he naps) or after he’s in bed for the night.

I should also mention I’m one of those freaks of nature who reads really fast. That’s how I’ve been able to read so many books while caring for an infant. I might go back and review a few of these tomes, but for now I’ll just list and summarize my favorites.

My 5 Favorite Books I Read in 2011:

5. The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan- Book 3 of a dystopian fiction series. There are zombies. Trust me: you’ll like Carrie Ryan even if you don’t like zombies.

4. The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher- Dystopian fiction where the world has run out of water, and the main character meets a boy who seems to have plenty. Then the boy gets kidnapped. Imaginative, fun, and a good quick read.

3. Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi- More dystopian fiction (considering how much is out there, are you really surprised?) where the world has flooded. A boy breaking down beached ships for scrap finds a young woman in the wreck of a luxury yacht. Then he discovers someone is trying to kill her. This is Bacigalupi’s first YA novel, and I want to read more.

2. Across the Universe by Beth Revis- A space opera set on a generation ship. A girl in cryogenic stasis is nearly killed after being woken 50 years too early, and together with the young captain-in-training, she must figure out who would want to murder her. This book recommendation comes with a warning: there is some sexual content in the book, specifically an attempted rape. It was an important plot point and not graphic enough for me to quit reading, but it definitely made me cringe.

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth- I love Veronica Roth. I love the way she writes, and I love Tris, the heroine she created in Divergent. Yet another dystopian offering, the world is divided into factions that value a specific virtue above all others. The story starts just before Tris must choose her own faction, and she is caught between her family and her own desires.

All this reading gave me a better sense of what was right and wrong with my own novel, and I hope to finally complete that darn first draft this spring. Hopefully my son will cooperate by actually sleeping through the night!

Happy New Year! Welcome, 2012!

One thought on “New Years Post: What I Read

Leave a Reply

