What I’m Going to Be Reading 2012

Standard

I’m looking forward to a lot of things this year.

The Hunger Games movie. I may attend dressed as Effie Trinket. It’s mostly a question of whether I can procure a pink wig.

Completing the first draft of my novel. May 2012, people! That’s the goal, crazy though it may be.

And books. Lots and lots of books.

Insurgent

by Veronica Roth

Sequel to Divergent that I loved last year. Tris was supposed to be celebrating the day she officially joined her chosen faction, but a war is brewing. I can’t wait to see where Roth takes the story. Tris is one of my favorite heroines, right there next to Katniss Everdeen.

 

 

Cinder

by Marissa Meyer

Book One in the Lunar Chronicles. The heroine, Cinder, is a cyborg. That was enough for me, but if you need more, it’s described as a sci-fi take on Cinderella.

 

 

Partials

by Dan Wells

A sci-fi dystopian story. If you like Battlestar Galactica, the story will seem familiar. Man has created biologically-based robot super-soldiers to fight wars. Then a deadly virus started killing everyone.

 

 

Above

by Leah Bobet

This isn’t my typical fare. I’m not an urban fantasy type of girl. But this book looks really cool.  Matthew lives in Safe, a secret underground refuge for freaks with animal body parts or special powers like seeing ghosts. When someone threatens to destroy their haven, Matthew must find a way to protect those he loves.

 

If you know of something coming out this year that I didn’t mention, please let me know about it!

One thought on “What I’m Going to Be Reading 2012

Leave a Reply

