3 Goals for 2012

Standard

I’ve been thinking through my goals since I became a stay-at-home mom, and today I want to publish them for a little bit of accountability.

1) Finish the first draft of my novel by the end of April.

2) Use May and June to edit and revise.

3) Send out the second draft to a small group of readers for review at the end of June.

When I get the reviews back, I’ll make some decisions about what to do next.

My novel stands at 45,000 words, exactly half of my final word count goal. I have to write 45,000 words by April to meet my goal. That’s a lot of words.

On one hand, I’m wrangling a baby, managing our house, and participating in family and church activities with my husband. Just wrangling the baby feels like a full-time job some days. On the other hand, I don’t have a 9-5 job taking up brainpower and energy, and the aforementioned baby naps twice a day and goes to bed at 8:30. Since I’m not being paid to type class outlines and grant proposals or answer a thousand emails, I don’t have typing fatigue. My major problems with the draft are solved. I have no excuses. It’s just a matter of putting my behind in the chair every single day.

I can do this. Right?

2 thoughts on “3 Goals for 2012

Leave a Reply

