What I’m Reading: Partials

Standard

I’m a Hunger Games freak. I love the series, and I saw the movie on opening weekend in IMAX. I’m a big fan of YA dystopian/post-apocalyptic fiction in general, and I’m also a fan of Battlestar Galactica. Partials by Dan Wells sounds like a YA Battlestar Galactica in a lot of ways. It’s a sci-fi dystopia. There are organic robots. Humanity has been reduced to a small group of people trying to repopulate their world. It didn’t take much more than reading the description to know I’d like this book.

Partials

by Dan Wells

 

 

 

The main character Kira Walker is working as an apprentice in the hospital learning how to be a doctor. She mostly observes the deaths of newborns because a virus released years ago by the organic robots (known as Partials) kills the babies within 72 hours. This means the human race is slowly but surely dying out. Because there could be a chance that someone will have a child that is immune to the virus, the government has passed the Hope Act requiring all women over 18 to get pregnant as often as possible. Kira becomes convinced that curing the virus is tied to the Partials, but no one has seen one in years.

There are so many twists in this story, and even if I guessed many of them, I enjoyed the ride. Kara lives in a world where teenagers have all the responsibilities of adulthood but few of the advantages. One of the things that annoys me in much of YA is teenage angst, but Partials is one of the rare stories where the angst was justified. These teenagers work hard at full-time jobs, live independently, and contribute to society like adults, but they have no say in their government because the voting age remains 18. As every teenager has said at least once, “That is so unfair!” Kira is a strong and confident young woman who is determined to make a difference, and I followed her journey without blinking. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

Partials is a book you should buy, not borrow from the library. I highly recommend it.

One thought on “What I’m Reading: Partials

Leave a Reply

