More Books I Read This Year

Standard

Now for the ones I didn’t like so much.

The Night Sessions by Ken McLeod

This book… I really don’t know what to say about it. The basic concept is artificial intelligence that decides it believes in God, but the author is an atheist. There were several scenes I skipped due to sexuality and a lot of language. However the plot was interesting, and I enjoyed many parts of it. The world-building was excellent, and I liked the characters. He even handled Calvinistic theology fairly well. I was impressed.

But at the end the main Christian character decides, based on one single oddball Bible verse, that he no longer believes any part of scripture and turns his back on God. I kind of freaked out. Because seriously?!? Who could do that without excruciating mental pain and agony? Faith comes from the core of your being, your very soul! Abandoning something that important to you is going to destroy you for a period of time. I threw the book across the room.

Hmm. I guess I did know what to say.

The Line by Teri Hall

I read this approximately nine months ago. I remember nothing about it. That should tell you everything you need to know.

 

 

 

 

Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

I haven’t liked a Dekker book in a long time. I don’t know why I keep going back for more. I suppose I thought Lee might reign in the crazy, but the book just recycled the plot of the Circle series. Also, I have had enough of Dekker’s bizarre obsession with blood. How many books has this man written that are focused on blood? I’m beginning to wonder if he might be a vampire. Seriously.

Finally, *beginning rant* this weird fixation popular culture has with human emotion as the most important thing in the world annoys me. Emotions are a beautiful (and painful) part of our humanity, but they are not what define us. What defines humanity is being made in the image of God. God is both emotional and reasonable, logical and creative. Humanity is likewise both/and, not either/or. Emotions are a gift, but because of sin, they lie to us. They are not the ultimate

end of our existence. Neither is reason. *rant over*

Dark Parties by Sara Grant

asflkja;kjdfalj! Every time I talk about this book I lapse into unintelligible groaning and sputtering. It was just bad. The characters were flat. The world-building barely existed. I’m giving it to the thrift store down the street.

 

 

 

 

The Kill Order by James Dashner

This series started out so promising. I ranked The Maze Runner as my second favorite book of 2009 ahead of The Hunger Games! Then The Scorch Trials made me wonder what on earth Dashner was doing. Then I threw The Death Cure across the room saying, “That is the stupidest ending ever!” I was furious! I read The Kill Order hoping it would salvage everything.

Nope.

I can’t believe I ever ranked this ahead of Hunger Games.

 

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Ryan tried to blend faith and science fiction. I was bored through most of it and irritated through the rest. The book felt like a less-interesting copy of Across thUniverse. I won’t be picking up the sequel.

 

 

 

 

Delirium and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

My hubby bought me these books as gifts. I wish I had borrowed them from the library.

Lena lives in world where love is considered a mental disorder that must be cured with an operation. She’s terrified of catching “deliria” before she is cured. Then she meets a boy.

The dystopian parts kept me going until about halfway through Pandemonium. I only finished it because we paid for it. My biggest problem with the story is that it confuses infatuation and love. Caleb and I have been married for almost seven years. I remember feeling all fluttery and sappy when we first started dating. He can still make me feel that way, but true love is not butterflies. It is something that settles down deep in your soul until it is beyond feelings.

“Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.” – William Shakespeare from Sonnet 116

I guess what I’m saying is I feel like I was suckered into reading Twilight, and I’m not happy. I won’t be reading the last book in the series because I think love triangles are stupid and I don’t care what happens to Lena.

______________________________________________________________________________________

So much for the books I didn’t like. Next I’ll be posting the books I plan to read next year. It’s a long list.

2 thoughts on “More Books I Read This Year

  1. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

