Bathtub Toys Taught Me Something

Standard

I have never talked about my son on this blog, but today he taught me something I wanted to share.

He’s two now and growing more independent each day. He mimics me in the funniest ways such as tapping on the back of a cup to knock the last drops of water out or asking for a tissue so he can “blow his nose” by blowing raspberries with his tongue. He plays on Mommy and Daddy’s bed while hollering, “Careful! Don’t fall!” He wants to eat what I eat, drink what I drink, type on my computer, and “read” my books and Bible.

His antics always amuse me, but today I saw myself the same way.

Christianity is mimicry. It’s the definition of a disciple. When I read my Bible, memorize scripture, worship with other believers, and pray, I am copying Jesus. When I bite my tongue on a snide remark or tell a friend a painful truth, I am trying to be like Him. When I tell my stories, I am hoping to create a pale imitation of His parables and the beautiful story of His grace that He has been telling since the creation of the world. Working out my salvation is one big exercise in trying to copy a perfect God when I am so very imperfect.

Tonight as my son tapped on the bottom of a cup as he played in the bathtub, I wondered if my Savior looks at me with the same smile of pleased amusement. Am I as silly a mimic as my toddler? Do I even come close to looking like Him? I hope so.

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:12

Leave a Reply

